On The Road

I am writing from Tucson where I have three days of Rest and relaxation after the non stop screenings from LA, Washington DC, then to New York and then Phoenix!  All in this last ten days.

This will be quick, just wanted to include another wonderful email from one of our screenings.  Again, this is Winchester, but believe me, we have had so many lovely responses to our other screenings.  I will get to those !!!

So, please read the email from this young woman–it confirms that what I am saying in the film speaks to all ages. Thanks for sharing, Carina.

” Hello!
I was at the screening on Sunday evening 3/29 at the Next Door Theatre in Winchester. My name is Carina Caligiuri Kurban and I am a junior at Winchester High School. I wanted to personally say this to those speaking (Angela Williams, Ruth B. McDowell, and Pamela Tanner Boll), but I unfortunately got sick and had to leave immediately.
I would just like to say that I absolutely loved the movie. My mother commented that she was nervous about having me see it, fearing that I, as an aspiring artist, would be “turned off” at what was shown. However, I did not find it negative at all. In fact, I found it extremely inspiring. The entire time while watching it I wanted to go home and paint a mural, or sketch in my sketchbook, or write a song on the piano…the list goes on. Nevertheless, the hardships shown in the film were definitely not invisible. While definitely difficult to deal with, they showed me that being an artist and actually finding time to create art is so fulfilling. In doing so, it increased my understanding that nothing worth having comes easily.
So thank you to everyone involved in the process of making this fabulous documentary, especially to Angela, Ruth, and Pamela. You have all inspired me to further my artistic dreams.
Sincerely,
Carina Caligiuri Kurban”

I so so love to hear from our audiences and it is especially heartening to hear from young people.

See you soon.

Pamela

4 Responses to “On The Road”

  1. I saw your film at Bainbridge Island, WA a few days ago and loved it! I posted about it at my blog The Apron Goddesses at http://aprongoddesses.blogspot.com/2009/04/who-does-she-think-she-is.html

    I hope more women and especially men get out to see this film!

  2. Pamela,

    I just wanted you to know that I talked about “Who Does She Think She Is” and your LA Screening on my blog, “L’Artisana WildGoddess.” http://wildgoddess.wordpress.com/
    Would you like to exchange links?

    Good luck with the film, I LOVED it and want to see more from you!

  3. Pamela – notice of your movie showing in Seattle at McCaw Hall went out the same day on the Women Painters of Washington email list. So glad I heard about it! I brought my good friend and fellow artist, Lynn Scott, who curates an annual show here in our hometown of Edmonds, Wa, called “Art of Our Mothers” – so we are right on track with your message. We work with other women experimental artists in town and they amaze and inspire me with their wisdom and talent. Suburban women rock art – surprising… ? We are who we are no matter WHERE we are. Of course! Lynn and I agreed your movie made us feel brave.
    Have you checked out the Alice Neel documentary? – also really amazing.
    Thanks for making this movie for our daughters and sons, and for us.
    —- Tracy Kay Fraker

    • tracy: love the Alice Neel Doc!! Very good and true.

      WildGoddess–yes, exchanging links is GREAT! So glad you came to the screening.

      Julia–got the post on your blog! Thanks so much!

      Pamela

Leave a Reply

