Beaver Country Day screening of WHO DOES SHE THINK SHE IS?

picture-7Last week, I had the honor of bringing the film to Beaver Country Day School outside of Boston.  We showed excerpts from the film to a large group of Middle Schoolers and then High School Students.  In both screenings I was able to have a wonderful discussion.

I asked both groups what they wanted to be when they grew up.  What were their dreams, their hopes?  Did they want to have a family?  I ask about their parents.  Did they admire their parents?  Did they want to be like their Mom or their Dad or anyone else in their family?

It was interesting to me to see the differences between the middle and high school students.  The younger kids were eager to share.  Sure, they laughed and in some cases made jokes with each other.  But, they wanted to tell me their dreams, wanted to tell about their families.

The High School students were more reserved.  Less eager to open up.  Several of them came up to me after the clips to say how much they liked the presentation.  Many had questions about film making.  Others had questions about becoming an artist.  But, they were not so eager to talk in front of each other.  I wondered about that. I hope that these young people are keeping to themselves not so much as a way to protect their dreams and fears…but, as a way to let them develop.  I hope that they are tending to those dreams, letting them grow.

I also had an absolutely wonderful lunch with some of the middle school students.  They talked about all their different activities.  How busy they were. The shuttling back and forth from school to music lessons, to sports.  One boy mentioned that his father drove him to his sports and that is when they talked.  A young lady said her mother tried to talk to her in the car but that she was just too too tired.  Many said they were tired.  I asked what time they went to bed.  11 or 12 pm…and up again before 7.   So little sleep.  How can they study? We are a sleep deprived society.  I worry about this.  I worry about these bright eager young people–so full of stories and feelings.  I  feel so very very blessed to have had this chance to listen to them.

Later that night, the film screened for these children’s parents.  I was truly grateful for this audience and also grateful that these very busy people turned out for the film.  We had a wonderful discussion after.

Thank you, Tara Paulauskas and your associates at Beaver Country Day for setting this all up.  It was an inspiring and humbling experience for me.

Now, I truly wish I had some pictures to include here.  I am picture challenged.  Next time I will just shoot some with my blackberry.  My sister tells me the quality is terrible–but at least I can POST those immediately!!

Ok, I am still in Bainbridge Island and have been writing for hours and am hungry and tired and need to finish packing so we can make our way to Port Orchard for the screening tonight!  Then on to Seattle!

Leave a Reply

