Buzz at the Box Office

As most of you know, we’re opening Friday night at Angelika Film Center in New York City. We just headed on down to the box office to buy our tickets and the box office folks told us that the response has been totally overwhelming, far more interest than they were prepared for.

Music to our ears!

Bigwigs in the movie industry have said that women won’t go see movies, that no one cares about work/life balance issues, that women in the arts is just not a “sexy” enough topic.

We’re so excited to see that you’re going to make them eat their words with your enthusiasm for the film. Thank you!

If you’re in the New York area, be sure to get your tickets for next week, before they run out! Here or here.

6 Responses to “Buzz at the Box Office”

  1. You should start a Twitter account. There are a lot of wonderful, talented, brilliant women there that you can reach.

    Check it out: http://www.twitter.com

  2. Best wishes with your opening! I mentioned you on my blog as well.

  3. Carol Binion Says:

    Hello WDSTSI folks-

    Please, whoever is responsible for promoting/booking this movie, if L.A. is one of your targets (I assume it is) PLEASE get yourself connected with our fabulous public radio station, KCRW (89.9 fm).

    They are so pro-art, pro-emerging artist, super hip, well organized and have a HUGE listening audience of all the culture/taste makers in this most influential of movie towns…. let me know if you have any difficulty hooking up with them (though I doubt you will).

    One of their tactics is to do ticket giveaways and it would be invaluable on-air publicity for you.

    Good luck, I am so thrilled for you and your Angelika response!

    -Carol Binion

  4. As a woman and an emerging artist, I am excited to see this film! I will link and mention it on my blog and help spread the word! Seattle has an amazing artistic community that would be very responsive to this work! I look forward to purchasing the film on DVD to pass on to my kids and share with my artist friends. Thank you!

  5. I’m really, really hoping this film takes off and travels out my way! I’m dying to see it. It encapsulates what I live every day and I’d love to see how other women do it.

  6. yes! Let’s see this film in the LA area! Sooner than later!

Leave a Reply

