More Bloggers on Who Does She Think She Is?

Popular feminist blog, Jezebel, urged readers to check out Who Does She Think She is? and look at all the great comments!

Cathy Malchiodi, an art therapist, visual artist, independent scholar, and author of 13 books on arts therapies, including The Art Therapy Sourcebook and the bestselling Understanding Children’s Drawings, blogged about the film over at Psychology Today. An excerpt:

All artists pursue their calling at a price, but for women artistic creativity sometimes comes with intense sacrifice, guilt, ambivalence, and personal challenge. A compelling documentary film on women artists explores the barriers to the creative process and how art ultimately transforms women’s lives and those around them. Like many female artists, I cannot begin to count the times I have been waiting for water to boil while thinking about the composition of a painting, or running back and forth from the studio to the stove to make dinner or the laundry room to put the clothes into the dryer. Certainly, artists of either gender may engage in this dance between the pursuit of art and the domestic life, but women in the arts know what I am talking about.

And Jen Lemen, over at BlogHer, gets in on the action with her beautiful reflection on work/life balance:

What happens, however, when a woman decides her future is not in the office or the classroom, but in the studio or the theater? The arts require a serious time commitment, long before substantial paychecks follow–if ever. Many women decide to push their creative dreams aside because of this, and others, determined to find material success and recognition for their work, decide partners and children simply don’t mix with the time commitment required.

She even leaves the reader with links to her favorite women artists.

Thanks to everyone for spreading the word and joining the conversation!

4 Responses to “More Bloggers on Who Does She Think She Is?”

  1. […] More Bloggers on Who Does She Think She Is? – Cathy Malchiodi, an art therapist, visual artist, independent scholar, and author of 13 books on arts therapies, including The Art Therapy Sourcebook and the bestselling Understanding Children’s Drawings, blogged about the film over at … […]

  2. Right on to the brave, inspired women who have produced this film. I cannot wait for it to come to Los Angeles. If you need a local liason, I volunteer. I am a feminist mother of 3 daughters; my oldest, Hannah (21) emailed me today about your website. I was a teacher for many years in the DC area but followed my passion for acting, dance, singing, and writing and moved to LA last year with two young daughters in tow (now 8 & 9). The road can only rise to meet us when we rise first. Virginia Woolfe said it best, “If you cannot tell teh truth about yourself, you cannot tell it about other people.” I am a mother and I am an artist. Long live my sisters in the trenches. Amen.

  3. I was an art major in high school then life happened fast and I was a wife and mother. I was always thinking and doing creative things after hours. When I turned fifty I woke up and realized I was everything to everyone else but not to me. I got back into art took interesting classes on techniques I was interested in,joined an art group and created. Wound up getting into art shows and selling my art. I wonder why I never thought I could do this as well as all my other roles in life I took on til then.

  4. Posted a bit about this beautiful and wonderful film here:

    All Beliefs Forum
    http://www.allbeliefs.com/showthread.php?p=113679#post113679

    and My Blog at You Picked Me
    http://youpickedme61.blogspot.com/2008/10/who-does-she-think-she-is.html

Leave a Reply

