Musings of a Cameraman

Just heard from our first cameraman about the film. I’d sent him a screener as he and I had spent hours driving over dirt roads in New Mexico during our first shoot in may of 2005 talking about everything under the sun–art, how to do work you love and who gets left behind while you are off doing that work, how to be a good father when you are on the road so much more. As we chased down the perfect interview spots for Maye Torres, as well as one of our early subjects–poet Pattiann Rogers who was giving a class in Los Alamos–we hashed out so much of the world. Mark, like many cameramen, travels the world to make films. We talked  a lot about why this was hard for him; he missed his girls and his wife, but it was work, after all, and work that paid the bills!

I sometimes wonder if that fact alone explains the lack of guilt men feel in workthat takes them away from their families—but, I don’t think so.  I know too many high powered businesswomen who travel for work and feel torn about what they are neglecting at home…

In any case, I wanted to share his response to the film:

I just watched your film for the second time and really love it! It moved me deeply for at least two reasons; first for having been there at the beginning when your ideas were new and the first images chosen and to see how nicely the film came together. Then secondly as a father of two young girls who want to be artists! I fear for them sometimes because they are still very young and don’t yet have a sense of what some of the world’s restrictions on them might be. So, I try to support them as much as I can because being an artist is really the best of many things to do and be. I hope it will make a difference.

You really stayed true to your original dream, and so much more… I really liked the woman you chose. I would have enjoyed spending time with each of them.

Maye’s story was particularly moving. She is so human, so passionate, yet so vulnerable, especially with her boys… I really like that you chose to push her to the point of tears. I remember your frustration that she only expressed that side of her struggle off camera that first time. Hers is a really strong story. I feel honored to have shared a few moments of her life.

I wish you all good things as you go forward. When you get a chance I would love to talk with you more about your film. Thank you again for the opportunity to be a part of it.

Warm regards,

Mark

One Response to “Musings of a Cameraman”

  1. Great interview here on the Lattice Group blog with Pam about the film making process and her motivations for making the film.

    http://www.thelatticegroup.org/content/view/162/67/

Leave a Reply

